Posted by: saveafewbucks | May 11, 2011

Wishy Washy

It seems as if my short-term (2011) goals are constantly changing these days. Yesterday it was paying off debt, the day before investing, etc. Today, it’s purchasing company stock. I’ve decided that the large savings I have left will be used to purchase company stock at the end of this summer. Based on the program set up, the benefit should be a return of approximately 16%. However, given the various exchange rates that come into play at the time this could be significantly less. In the end, it still should provide more than the prime +2.5 I am paying on my student loan. Considering the effect of taxes (assuming a 30% marginal rate) and excluding foreign exchange gain/loss purchasing stock should yield about 11.5% not including annual dividend payments.

So it looks like I’m going to own me some stock! Possibly… I have at least 3 months before the contribution period begins and that much time to change my mind.

On a separate note, I’ve forgotten how to live without money. I’ve made “my budget” of $30/day, not including recuuring household/ transportation expenses and it seems like a stretch. If only my spending habits were that of my teenage self working part-time at the grand minimum wage rate (circa 2000s) of $6.85/hour….

Leave a Reply

Categories

