Posted by: saveafewbucks | October 17, 2010

‘Tis the Season

My favourite holiday is coming up soon! Hallowe’en!! Why? You can dress up however you like and no one can say anything. Also, everyone is just that extra bit friendly and social.

A few years ago I started making/putting together my own costume in order to save money and this year is no different. No sense in blowing $60 on an outfit you will never wear again. I also love crafting and such so this is a nice way to get my creativity out.

This year I’m dressing up as a dinosaur. Yes. You heard it right. A dinosaur (or a dragon. Same deal.). Yes, I am in my mid-twenties. Good thing I don’t look it. I never had the opportunity to be one as a child so this is the perfect opportunity. HA! It’s a simple and inexpensive costume to sew when you don’t have access to a sewing machine.

Today I purchased the materials at the local outlet mall. Breakdown as follows (all prices include 13% taxes):

  • 2 purple sweatshirts – $11.30
  • 1 orange t-shirt and mini sewing kit – $8.80

Total = $20.10 (or $15.25 if you don’t include the cost of the sewing kit which will be reused many more times)

Now I have to figure out how to turn these items into a dragon costume…. Some links I’ve found online to homemade costumes include:

I’ll update when I get somewhere in this process… >:)

Leave a Reply

Categories

