Posted by: saveafewbucks | August 31, 2010

The Power of Points

I’m a point-a-holic. I can admit it. I don’t care that companies use the information gathered through points cards to devise marketing schemes to get me to buy more. Because I just “saved” $70.00 on my grocery bill this morning. Thus reducing my credit card charge to $1.84. Yesssss!

I say saved in quotes since I spent money (a lot more) to save that money. But I would have spent it anyways!! Might as well get something in return. I make the majority of my purchases on my President’s Choice Mastercard. First, to earn points to redeem for groceries. Second, for easy record keeping.

My PC Mastercard offers 10 PC points for every $1 spent on the card (not including bonus offers). I can then begin redeeming at 20,000 points (per transaction) in 10,000 point increments after that. Thus to redeem the minimum 20,000 points, you would have spent $2,000 on your card. Though the 1% return isn’t the best out there, I like it since you’re using your points for something you must buy.

There is the option of a cashback card, which I’ve had in the past, however I don’t like the idea of getting the redemption annually. Somehow its just not quite as satisfying to me.

Anywho! Yay points savings!!

🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

