Posted by: saveafewbucks | August 19, 2010

So what do you do for a living?

I have never been so conscious of this question or dreaded one more in my life. Because I am unemployed. For the first time since I was 14 years old, I am not working. And it bites the big one! Whether it was a lowly retail job or a professional one, I was always proud to be working. Now I fear the stigma associated with unemployment. Maybe not a reasonable thought but there at the forefront of my thoughts at all times when I meet someone new or bump into an acquaintance I haven’t seen in awhile. The conversation usually goes something like this:

Me: “Hi! How’s it going?? Haven’t seen you in awhile!” (note: those exclamations are indicative of how I actually speak to people)

Person X: “Great! I just finished my ____ degree at ____ and I’m now working for ____ doing _____. What about you?”

Me: “I’m good. Did my ___ and ___ degree at _____ and I’m an accountant now.”

Person X: “That’s awesome! What firm are you working for?”

Me: “Uhhhh… I’m actually not working right now. I’ve been taking the summer to look.”

Person X: *blank stare* “Oh okay.” *silence*

Or so how I perceive the conversation to go… I guess it is my own awkwardness shining through. But alas it could be worse. I’m still young(ish) and I know many people who are unemployed or working non-career related jobs. The current economic conditions also allow for some leniency and sympathy from the employed population.

***

Side note: According to the Financial Post unemployment rates continue to rise in July 2010. Hopefully the end of summer marks a push towards job gains. I have my fingers crossed.

***

Any thoughts on a good way to handle the job question?

Leave a Reply

Categories

