Posted by: saveafewbucks | August 19, 2010

My boyfriend’s personal chef

By choice of course. Well choice and circumstance.

I used to eat out a lot. When I say a lot, I mean a disgusting amount. When I lived at home with my parents (before university) I had the benefit of home cooked meals. I enjoyed cooking the occasional meal and baking of course, but never had to do it to survive. Come university I was a tad bit useless when it came to feeding myself. First year offered the ease of a meal plan. The next four years was filled with the (very) occasional self-cooked meal, regular high-sodium low-nutritional content microwave dinner, and the (much more) often $5-10 meal purchased from the plethora of student filled food establishments within a 15 minute walk. These purchased meals were funded from a mix of student loans (which I’m paying for now) and university co-op earnings. I couldn’t even tally up how much I spent on eating out. After university, I moved back with my parents and again lived on a mix of parental-home-cooked meals and an average of 3 dinners and all lunches for the week purchased. However, the food spending managed to skyrocket to an all new high given that I was now working full-time and had quite a bit more “disposable” income.

Fast forward to today. I’ve moved out, realized how irresponsible my food spending was and have now made a promise to cook as many meals as possible. It’s hard. Eating out is easy. So our goal is to limit eating out to once a week. We don’t always succeed at this goal, but it’s a work in progress.

To assist me in my quest, I usually use the All Recipes website to come up with meals. Call me a follower, but I like to see how other people have rated the recipes before I try them. I’ve been using the site regularly for about 2 months now for all my cooking and baking. Must say that it feels great when someone compliments you on a great dish you made! Even if it was someone else’s recipe…

Hopefully this will be one of many ways to get my spending on track!

***

If by any chance you’re wondering why my boyfriend isn’t MY personal chef, it is due to the fact that I’m at home now and have more time to cook. I also happen to be better at it than him. I get sick of eating hot dogs and chicken all the time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

